Conservation Areas

Conservation areas are those parts of the District which have been recognised as having a special architectural or historic interest which is worthy of preservation and enhancement.

When considering planning applications for developments within them, a duty is placed on the local planning authority to pay special attention to the desirability of preserving or enhancing the character or appearance of the conservation area. Anyone intending to do works to trees in a conservation area is required to give the planning authority six-weeks notice.

The conservation areas within Bolsover District at present are:

  1. Apsley Grange
  2. Astwith
  3. Barlborough
  4. Belph
  5. Bolsover
  6. Carnfield Hall
  7. Clowne
  8. Creswell
  9. Elmton
  10. Elmton with Creswell Farmsteads
  11. Hardstoft
  12. Hardwick and Rowthorne
  13. Markland and Holinhill Grips
  14. Newton
  15. Old Blackwell
  16. Oxcroft
  17. Palterton
  18. Pleasley Park and Vale
  19. Pleasley
  20. Scarcliffe
  21. Southgate House
  22. Stainsby
  23. Steetly
  24. Stoney Houghton
  25. Tibshelf
  26. Upper Langwith
  27. Whaley
  28. Whitwell




 01246 242424
 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


No specific documents