The Electoral Administration Act 2006 introduced a requirement that each local authority undertakes a review of parliamentary polling districts and polling places every five years.

The electoral and polling arrangements made for the parliamentary elections are also used at other elections and the aim of the review is to ensure that all electors within the district have reasonable facilities for voting as are practicable, and so far as is reasonable and practicable, all polling places and stations are accessible to all electors including those with disabilities.

A consultation document for the review is available on this webpage, as well as a Notice of the Review which explains how representations should be made.

The Review commences on Monday 7 October 2019 inviting comments and submissions in writing from any interested parties, which must be received by 1 November 2019.

A schedule of the Council’s current polling districts, polling places and polling stations can be viewed here.

The Acting Returning Officer’s proposals will be published on this webpage on 15 November 2019 and any comments on the Acting Returning Officer’s proposals must be submitted to the Electoral Services Manager by no later than 29 November 2019.

The Council will consider all submissions received and recommendations for any new polling districts, polling places and polling stations. However, there is no requirement to change any existing arrangements.

Any submissions/representations should be sent to the Electoral Services Manager, Bolsover District Council, The Arc, High Street, Clowne, S43 4JY. You can also send your submission by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Maps of each ward showing current polling station location


Ault Hucknall Barlborough Blackwell Bolsover East Bolsover North and Shuttlewood
Bolsover South Clowne East Clowne West Elmton-with-Creswell Langwith
Pinxton Shirebrook North Shirebrook South South Normanton East South Normanton West
Tibshelf Whitwell      



Elections for the European Parliament take place every 5 years. The last election was held in May 2019 and the results can be accessed via the European Parliament website.


Notice of Conclusion of Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places


Representation of the People Act 1983

Bolsover District Council has completed a review of polling districts and polling places in accordance with the Representation of the People Act 1983.  The review was undertaken following a review of the Council’s electoral arrangements by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The new electoral arrangements will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The Council has taken into account public comments, observations and representations in reaching its decisions, and has now published revised details of its designated Polling Districts and Polling Places. 

The changes to the polling districts and polling places will be incorporated in the revised electoral register to be published on 1st December 2018.           

The following documentation in relation to the review is available to view online at www.bolsover.gov.uk. Hard copies of the documents are available for inspection at The Arc, High Street, Clowne, Derbyshire, S43 4JY.

  • Maps showing the new Polling Districts and Polling Places


Barlborough Ward Blackwell Ward
Bolsover East Ward Bolsover North - Shuttlewood Ward Clowne East Ward Clowne West Ward
Elmton with Creswell Ward Langwith Ward Pinxton Ward Shirebrook North Ward Shirebrook South Ward South Normanton East Ward
South Normanton West Ward Tibshelf Ward Whitwell Ward


  • The minutes of meeting of the Council held on 12th September 2018 which considered the draft recommendations
  • The report and appendices considered by the Council at its meeting held on 12th September 2018  which sets out the reasons for choosing each particular polling place and polling district including responses to public consultation
  • Correspondence sent to any person or consultee to whom the authority contacted because they had particular expertise in relation to access to premises or facilities for disabled people.
    Letter to consultees

Following the conclusion of the Local Authority’s review certain persons have a right to make representations to the Electoral Commission.  If, on receipt of the representations, the Commission find that the review did not:

  • meet the reasonable requirements of the electors in the constituency or a body of them; or
  • take sufficient account of the accessibility for disabled persons of a polling station/polling stations with a designated polling place then the Commission may direct the Council to make any alterations to the polling places as they think necessary and if the alterations are not made within two months, make the alterations themselves.

Any representations must be in writing, either by post, e-mail or fax to:

Legal Counsel, The Electoral Commission, 3 Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8YZ.

Tel: 020 7271 0500  Fax: 020 7271 0505

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

If you require any further information regarding this review telephone 01246 242422

Dan Swaine,                           Dated       23 October 2018

Chief Executive



Elections results 2019


The results of elections which took place within Bolsover District on Thursday 2 May 2019, where both District and Parish seats where up for election, are as follows:

For more information please contact the Electoral Services Team on 01246 242422 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

District Elections

Ward Declaration of results  
Ault Hucknall District Download  
Barlborough Download  
Blackwell Download  
Bolsover East Download  
Bolsover North and Shuttlewood Download  
Bolsover South Download  
Clowne East Download  
Clowne West Download  
Elmton with Creswell Download  
Pinxton Download  
Shirebrook North Download  
Shirebrook South Download  
South Normanton East Download  
South Normanton West Download  
Tibshelf Download  
Langwith - Uncontested Download  
Whitwell Download  


Parish Elections

Ward Declaration of results  
Ault Hucknall - Uncontested  Download  
Barlborough  Download  
Blackwell Blackwell  Download  
Blackwell Hilcote  Download  
Blackwell Newton  Download  
Blackwell Westhouses  Download  
Clowne East  Download  
Clowne North  Download  
Clowne West  Download  
Elmton with Creswell  Download  
Glapwell - Uncontested  Download  
Hodthorpe and Belph - Uncontested  Download  
Langwith Bassett  Download  
Langwith Bathurst - Uncontested  Download  
Langwith Poulter - Uncontested  Download  
Old Bolsover Central Ward  Download  
Old Bolsover East  Download  
Old Bolsover North with-Shuttlewood  Download  
Old Bolsover South  Download  
Old Bolsover with Stanfree - Uncontested  Download  
Pinxton Broadmeadows  Download  
Pinxton Pinxton  Download  
Pleasley - Uncontested  Download  
Scarcliffe North - Uncontested  Download  
Scarcliffe South - Uncontested  Download  
Shirebrook North - Uncontested  Download  
Shirebrook South  Download  
Shirebrook with Langwith - Uncontested  Download  
South Normanton Central  Download  
South Normanton East  Download  
South Normanton West  Download  
Tibshelf  Download  
Whitwell  Download  






The last general election took place in June 2017 and the results can be found here

Housing contacts

  • Tel: 01246 242424
  • Email: 
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Popular Questions

Go to top